A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Hey guys!

I’m back again with another review, this one is for A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer.

I received this novel from Raincoast Books and I was so very excited to pick it up. It comes out in January and is a fantastic retelling of Beauty and the Beast!

Let’s jump into it!


Release Date: January 29th, 2019 
Pages: 496 Pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Genre: Fantasy, YA, Retelling

Plot:

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.


This novel was one that I was really excited to pick up. It’s one of the reasons that I was so quick to read it, seeing as how I’m always so awful with ARCs. 

The first thing that I found myself loving about this novel was how much amazing representation there was throughout. The most impactful was seeing Harper thrive with her cerebral palsy. It was incredible to see that the story didn’t revolve around her disability. Instead it just added to how incredible Harper was as a character. 

Harper was the Belle of this story and she was such a good representation of who Belle is. She is a strong, independant, and very opinionated about her choices. I loved everything we saw from Harper. It was so refreshing to see someone who wouldn’t back down from a fight or fall at the feet of all the male protagonists. Harper chose her fights and stuck with them, she didn’t back down when pushed back. If there was anything that I would recommend this book off of, it would be because of how Harper was written, because it makes the book totally worth it. 

We also had a slight love triangle in this novel which I was actually not mad to see. It was kind of fun to see the progression of it and I definitely think we’ll see more of it throughout the second novel, which makes me all the more excited to pick that one up. 

The place that I found this novel lacking was with the main male protagonist, Rhen. Rhen was an okay character, but I didn’t find myself connecting with him at all. I think with all the character development we saw with Harper, it was very easy to tell that we didn’t get the same with Rhen. 

As for Grey, I definitely loved his character quite a lot. His relationship with Harper was so cute and fun to see. Seeing his devotion and commitment to staying true to himself and keeping his word was so great and I definitely look forward to seeing more of him in the sequel as well. 

As for the writing and plot, I found it to be interesting enough to contain my attention for the time that I was reading the novel. I was able to finish it quite quickly, but I think that there were definitely times in which the novel felt as though it was dragging. It had a lot of moments in which I lost my concentration and didn’t really feel compelled to continue, but in the end I did love seeing the action at the end. 

I do think that I will love the sequel a lot more than I loved this novel. I can’t wait to see what happens with my favourite characters and with the plot. 


Alright everyone, that concludes my review for A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer. 

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social media sites. 

Until next time,

Rimpy Toor

Published by rimpytoor

Blogger of all things that consume my life (mostly books)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: