The Valiant by Lesley Livingston (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hey guys, today I’m bringing to you my review for The Valiant by Leslie Livingston.

This novel is one that I looked forward to so much when it first came out. I was so excited to pick it up, and I’m so glad that I did.


Goodreads Rating: 3.87/5
Pages: 372 pages
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Publisher: Razorbill
Genre: Historical, Young Adult, Fantasy
Purchase Here!

Plot:
Princess. Captive. Gladiator.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights—in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier. 


⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


My Thoughts

This novel had such a cool premise, I really like the inclusion of having these gladiator women fight.

Our main character Fallon was also such a cool main character. She was strong and independent and someone I really loved reading about.

The storyline of this novel was also very interesting. There were a lot of moments where I was shocked to see what happened. Additionally, I was so surprised to see how the story progressed.

Livingston’s writing fit very well for this novel. I never wanted to put it down, plus I was super sad when it ended.

The fighting scenes in this novel also very graphic, I felt like I could see the scenes in my had very clearly.

Additionally, I really like the incorporation of having a contest of who was the strongest gladiator. Contests in novels are very fun for me to read, and I always enjoy seeing how they play out.

All in all this novel was such a fun read, I definitely cannot wait to pick up the next one in the series.


That concludes my review for The Valiant by Leslie Livingston.

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social media sites linked in the sidebar.

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014
RPO Newton
Surrey BC, Canada
V3W 1A7

5 thoughts on “The Valiant by Lesley Livingston (Spoiler-Free Review)

Leave a Reply

