The Underground Railroad by Coleson Whitehead (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hey guys!

Today I’m bringing you a review for The Underground Railroad by Coleson Whitehead! I hope you enjoy!


Goodreads Rating: 4.04/5
Pages:
306 pages
Publication Date:
August 2nd, 2016
Publisher:
Doubleday Books
Genre:
Historical Fiction
Purchase Here!

Plot:
Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hellish for all the slaves but especially bad for Cora; an outcast even among her fellow Africans, she is coming into womanhood – where even greater pain awaits. When Caesar, a recent arrival from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they decide to take a terrifying risk and escape. Matters do not go as planned and, though they manage to find a station and head north, they are being hunted.

In Whitehead’s ingenious conception, the Underground Railroad is no mere metaphor – engineers and conductors operate a secret network of tracks and tunnels beneath the Southern soil. Cora and Caesar’s first stop is South Carolina, in a city that initially seems like a haven – but the city’s placid surface masks an insidious scheme designed for its black denizens. Even worse: Ridgeway, the relentless slave catcher, is close on their heels. Forced to flee again, Cora embarks on a harrowing flight, state by state, seeking true freedom.


⭐ 


My Thoughts

I was not a big fan of this novel. I didn’t have any love for any of these characters and I was very disappointed with what I was left with.

This novel’s premise was so incredible, I was very interested in how this book would take the underground railroad and make it a real railroad as opposed to the collection of homes and such that were used in actual history.

I unfortunately hated the execution of this novel, it didn’t work the way I hoped. This novel had a weird seperation of chapters that was very confusing to follow and didn’t really make much sense to me.

Additionally, I thought the characters had no way of drawing me in and making me like them. I just didn’t care what happened to them, and that was supposed to be a big part of this novel.

I wish I had more to mention about this novel, but it was very underwhelming and I didn’t read it well enough to mention any other plot points.

All in all, I was thoroughly disappointed with this book and I wish the execution was a lot better than it was.


That concludes my review for The Underground Railroad by Coleson Whitehead.

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social media accounts linked in the side bar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014
RPO Newton
Surrey BC, Canada
V3W 1A7

10 thoughts on “The Underground Railroad by Coleson Whitehead (Spoiler-Free Review)

Leave a Reply

