Hindi Movie Recommendations

Hey guys, so this is a slightly different post for my blog – but I really wanted to do this because of my weird need to re-watch a lot of older Hindi movies I used to watch as a kid!

When I was younger I would watch more of these movies than anything else (I think this is why I haven’t seen a lot of classics), and I learned Hindi whilst I did so (I am Sikh – I speak Punjabi).

Lots of these movies make you cringe, but it is so worth it. If you ever feel like watching something different, definitely check these out!

PSA: All of these movies WILL make you cringe and they’re incredibly long. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!


Mujhse Dosti Karoge!

IMDB Rating: 5.1/10
Genre: Musical, Romance, Drama
Time: 2h 29min
Release Year: 2002

Plot: Basically this boy moves to London and leaves these two girls, that are his father’s two friends daughters, behind. He likes one of them and asks her to email him, but she’s not into him and her friend emails him instead. He comes back to India and a lot of drama goes down.

Thoughts: This movie is so funny and obvious that you can’t help but want to strangle the characters. If you’re looking for a fun watch with LOTS of music then definitely watch this!


Mohabbetein

IMDB Rating: 7.1/10
Genre: Musical, Romance, Drama
Time: 3h 36min
Release Year: 2000

Plot: Lots of different love stories going on + two men are arguing about stuff the entire time. If you’re looking for a nice romance with a lot of different POVs then watch this!

My Thoughts: I haven’t re-watched this in a long time, but it is filled with all the amazing actors that I used to love and a lot goes on in this movie. I remember it also being super sweet and funny so theres that!


Kaho Naa… Pyaar Hai

IMDB Rating: 6.9/10
Genre: Action, Crime, Romance
Time: 2h 52min
Release Year: 2000

Plot: First half has a girl falling in love with a guy, second half has her meeting his doppelganger and working to find out who murdered him…

My Thoughts: This movie is a lot more action than the previous ones. It has romance and all those things, but if you’re looking for something that’s a bit more action heavy I’d go for this one!


Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

IMDB Rating: 8.2/10
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Musical
Time: 3h 1min
Release Year: 1995

Plot: A girl goes to Europe to travel and meets a boy. She moves to India to get an arranged marriage and he follows her – lot’s of drama.

My Thoughts: This movie is really amazing. It’s funny and cute and drama filled and if you’re looking for a movie where two people “fall inlove” in Europe then this is great for you!


Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi

IMDB Rating: 7.2/10
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Music
Time: 2h 47min
Release Year: 2008

Plot: A man marries a woman and she is very distant. She loves to dance so she joins a class – he also joins the class but wears a disguise so she won’t know it’s him. They dance a bunch.

My Thoughts: This was a newer movie that I really enjoyed watching. It was funny and had lots of dancing and just lots of fun!


Main Hoon Na

IMDB Rating: 7/10
Genre: Action, Comedy, Crime
Time: 2h 59min
Release Year: 2004

Plot: An army major goes undercover as a college student to protect the daughter of his general as well as to find his estranged half-brother.

My Thoughts: This movie has loads of action and fighting but it also has really funny moments and a lot of cute romance.


Kuch Kuch Hota Hai

IMDB Rating: 7.8/10
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Musical
Time: 2h 57min
Release Year: 1998

Plot: Follows college students Rahul, Anjali, and Tina. Anjali loves Rahul but Rahul loves Tina. Rahul and Tina have a child as Anjali moves away and then Tina dies. Rahul’s eight-year-old daughter tries to reunite Rahul and Anjali.

My Thoughts: Lot’s of drama and romance and it gets sad at times. I really loved this movie – it’s the perfect blend of funny and sad and it’s a great story.


Baghban

IMDB Rating: 7.5/10
Genre: Drama, Romance
Time: 3h 1min
Release Year: 2003

Plot: An older couple want their children to take care of them in their old age. Their children see them as a burden and they split the couple up between kids.

My Thoughts: If you want to sob, this is your movie. This movie is probably the saddest movie I have ever seen – watching these two people who are in love be treated like shit by their parents is heartbreaking. It’s really an amazing movie and you should watch it.


Bajrangi Bhaijaan

IMDB Rating: 8.1/10
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy
Time: 2h 43min
Release Year: 2015

Plot: An Indian man takes a young mute Pakistani girl back to her home after she accidentally gets separated from her mother.

My Thoughts: This is a sweet story about a man and a girl who travel to find her mom. There has always been tension between Pakistan and India so that’s also brought into this movie a bit. This is probably the newest movie I have liked recently and I think you should watch it because it’s super cute.


Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham…

IMDB Rating: 7.5/10
Genre: Drama, Musical, Romance
Time: 3h 30min
Release Year: 2001

Plot: A boy lives with his rich family and falls in love with a girl he isn’t supposed to. He leaves home and his brother sets out to find his brother and bring his family back together.

My Thoughts: This is probably the one movie that you should watch if you want to get a feel of Indian movies. It is the holy grail of Bollywood movies (in my opinion) and it is definitely one of my all time favourites. This movies hilarious and incredibly sad as well. There is a lot that goes on and you will not hate one part of it.


Ok, that’s all I have for you right now! I’m sure I missed several others, but I suppose I can make another post if you guys would like that!

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social medias linked in the side bar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014
RPO Newton
Surrey BC, Canada
V3W 1A7

24 thoughts on “Hindi Movie Recommendations

  1. “I learned Hindi whilst I did so (I am Sikh – I speak Punjabi).” OMG ARE YOU ME??? LOL.
    also the only movie I haven’t seen on this list is Bajrangi Bhaijan. I’ve been meaning to, but haven’t yet.
    (I’m also not a huge SRK fan so I don’t rewatch a lot of these movies. Except for Mohobbatein I love that.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t done a rewatch of all of these in so long – but I didn’t really mind SRK during this period of his acting career. I feel like it’s just now that he’s getting really annoying. Also Bajrangi Bhaijaan is so amazing. When I first watched it I rewatched it literally the next day because I loved it so much haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

