Guest Blogger Book Review: Girl in Snow by Dayna Kukufka

Hey guys! My name is Regina. I run a blog called https://bookishinbed.wordpress.com/. (Feel free to give me a follow if you end up enjoying this review!) I’ve been blogging for a little over a year now but didn’t really get into blogging until a couple of months ago. I love reading and talking about books so I thought it would be fun to meet others who have the same interests. I mainly post book reviews but I’m trying to branch out more. So when Rimpy suggested we do a blog swap I was all for it. We decided we would read the same book and then post the review on each other’s blogs. So here we go!


Girl in Snow

Girl in Snow By Danya Kukafka

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 368 pages
Release Date: August 1st 2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
My Rating: 1 out of 5 Stars

Goodread’s Summary: Who Are You When No One Is Watching?

When a beloved high schooler named Lucinda Hayes is found murdered, no one in her sleepy Colorado suburb is untouched—not the boy who loved her too much; not the girl who wanted her perfect life; not the officer assigned to investigate her murder. In the aftermath of the tragedy, these three indelible characters—Cameron, Jade, and Russ—must each confront their darkest secrets in an effort to find solace, the truth, or both.

In crystalline prose, Danya Kukafka offers a brilliant exploration of identity and of the razor-sharp line between love and obsession, between watching and seeing, between truth and memory. Compulsively readable and powerfully moving, Girl in Snow offers an unforgettable reading experience and introduces a singular new talent in Danya Kukafka.

Girl in Snow was a book I was really looking forward to reading. This was a book that wasn’t on my radar but was sent to me by the publisher because of previous books I had requested on Netgalley. So I knew nothing going into this book. I’m sad to say this book was unable to hold my interest.

This book is told from three different character’s perspectives. I usually love that in books. In this book I felt it fell completely flat for me. I didn’t like any of our main characters so I never was looking forward to anyone’s point of view. We have Cameron who was obsessed with the girl that died. He would stalk her all the time. I just found him a bit creepy. Then there was Jade who hated the girl that died. She was okay. She was always going on about her ex-boyfriend which I found uninteresting. Then there was Russ who was the cop investigating the crime. He was a very bland character. Majority of the time these characters would talk it just wouldn’t hold my interest. They kept going on about stuff from that past that I found myself not caring about. I was hoping they would talk more about the investigation and go more in depth about it. That was not the case at all with this book. I like mysteries for the suspense but this book didn’t have any.

Another thing that didn’t help was the writing. I know this is a young adult novel but it was very juvenile with the writing. After a bit of reading I felt myself mainly skimming through the book. I was determined to finish this book because I had to write a review for it. If I didn’t I most likely wouldn’t have finished this book. It’s such a shame that I ended up not enjoying it at all. I feel I could have read the beginning of the book and then went straight to the part when the murder was discovered and probably would have given it a higher rating.

Overall this book just wasn’t what I was looking for. I really didn’t enjoy the story or any of the characters. I ended up skimming through it so I could get it over with faster. It’s such a shame because the cover intrigued me a lot. Plus this was a book recommended to me so I couldn’t wait to dive into this it. Sadly it didn’t have the mystery element I was hoping for.


I just want to thank you guys for checking out my review. It honestly means so much to me. If you enjoyed this review please check out my blog and give it a follow at https://bookishinbed.wordpress.com/.

Also thank you Rimpy for doing this blog swap with me. It was such a fun experience. I look forward to our next blog swap!

One thought on “Guest Blogger Book Review: Girl in Snow by Dayna Kukufka

Leave a Reply

