How To: Build a Social Media Following

Hello my loves!

I recently asked on my Twitter what you guys would like to see next on my How To series.

Social Media was something that was brought up. I am by no means an expert at social media and networking. This is entirely new to me! I’ve had my blog for about 2 weeks now and I have just been learning as I go, so I hope my suggestions aren’t too silly.


Step 1: Find a Name and Stick to it

This is an important step in creating a following because it makes everything uniform for your followers. If you have different names for all of your social media sites, it can get quite annoying and confusing for the reader to find and follow you.

I would suggest something unique. If you don’t want to use your name, use something that’s unique to you. You play piano, have it have something to do with that. If you run, if you’re a singer, if you’re a dog/cat lover. Make this name unique to you.


Step 2: Create an Email

This is something that I would suggest endlessly. You do not want to have your personal email linked to any of these social media sites. It gets annoying getting emails about Twitter alongside work emails and things like that.

Create an email with your social media name on it so that if someone would like to contact you, they will have a uniform name to contact. Additionally, I would suggest using Gmail for this email. Gmail is a professional email provider to use and if you’re contacting professionals in whichever area, they will appreciate this.


Step 3: Content

If you’re looking to gain a following on Twitter or Instagram or Facebook, it’s incredibly important to always have content on those sites. I am a religious Twitter user and I live by my Twitter. I check it constantly (it’s a bit obsessive) and I’m always Tweeting about what I’m working on, or even just about my day.

This is important because your followers want to know you’re active. If you use this site to just promote your blog and nothing else, no one is going to want to follow you. People want to be entertained and constant links isn’t going to provide them with much entertainment.


Step 4: Network

Networking can consist of many different things. You can network by attending conferences or you can just chat with people and make friends. I, personally, am a fan of the latter.

Networking for me mostly consists of replying to people’s tweets and talking to people in the comments section of my blog. This can go a long way to promote your social media as well as have other people like talking to you and maybe retweet your tweets and further your following.

I think networking is also a great way to just make friends. When running a blog, sometimes you feel like giving up, but having a friend that is doing the same thing as you can go a long way to help you forget about the followers and remember why you’re doing what you’re doing in the first place.


Step 5: Giveaways

On Twitter, something that a lot of people do is Giveaways. These are a great way to give back to all the people that support you, as well as reach people that haven’t heard of your page yet.

When hosting a Giveaway on Twitter, a couple rules I add are:

  • Retweet this Tweet: this can make your giveaway reach your followers followers and so on.
  • Follow this Twitter: This just allows you to gain more followers.
  • Follow my Blog for an Extra Entry: This is something I like to add on because sometimes people don’t realize right away that I run a blog, and looking at the giveaway it gives them a choice to follow or not, and if they do they get a slight reward.

I am not active on Instagram and Facebook so I don’t know how exactly to host a giveaway on those sites, but I’m assuming it’s around the same idea.


Those are about all the tips I have for you guys so far. I hope you enjoyed this post and it helped you (a little) with your social media.

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow this blog and my other social media accounts listed in the sidebar.

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor

Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads
Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
a: PO Box 99900 ZY 307 014
RPO Newton
Surrey BC, Canada
V3W 1A7

14 thoughts on “How To: Build a Social Media Following

  1. These were awesome pieces of advice! I only wish I had the money to do giveaways, because the RT/F ones on twitter get huge and would probably really help. In the meantime, I’ll just have to do everything else

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you have a wonderful following for doing this for such a short period of time. I’ve just starting attempting to take it more seriously since start of July and I’ll be applying some of these steps! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a good post! I wish I had thought about creating another email address before, though considering I /do/ have many email addresses, it’s probably a good thing I didn’t add another to the list. Lol.

    Also the fact that my blog sort of is (the beginning of) my work, it’s better that everything connects to my main email address…

    Everything else makes so much of sense! I’m starting to get more active on my Bookstagram (I have two Instagram accounts, one personal and one for my books), and it does help to post on either a schedule (some people post multiple times a day but that’s just not realistic for me) or to at least post on your Story daily to remind your followers that you’re around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true! I haven’t gotten into Bookstagram all that much. I tried it in the beginning but it just wasn’t the platform for me! Also I really appreciate my book email now because when I get emails from authors and publishers it’s all in the same place!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the wonderful tips! I have used some of these already but definitely need to work on some others. I just started blogging myself, next week will be 1 month! Glad to find someone that is new to blogging too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

