The Martian by Andy Weir (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hello lovelies!

This is a review that I wish I’d gotten out sooner – but better late than never right! I listened to this novel by audiobook and I absolutely loved it.

Ever since watching the movie I have been wanting to read this novel so bad – instead of reading it I decided to try out the audiobook, but I’m so glad that I did.

The narrators in this audiobook were amazing and really made me feel like I was experiencing the novel first hand.


Goodreads Rating: 4.39/518007564
Pages: 369 pages
Published: February 11th, 2014
Publisher: Crown

Plot:
Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. 

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills — and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit — he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?


⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


This novel was an amazing read (listen). Mark as a character was amazing – he had a personality that you’d want to be best friends with and his intelligence was something that you aspire towards.

Something that Weir did excellently in this novel was make the technical and scientific information that was necessary towards the plot – so incredibly easy to understand.

Another thing about Mark’s character that was admirable is his resilience. Despite being alone on another planet he still makes jokes and is able to enjoy himself. That’s not to say that he doesn’t have his moments of weakness – his positivity just outweighs the negativity.

Another aspect of the novel that I think Weir did incredibly was creating side characters that were able to gain your love and trust – with only a couple words/phrases.

I honestly have so many feelings for this novel – it made me laugh, it made me cry (ok, tear up), and it made me a bit frustrated. These emotions made my reading experience superb. Out of all of those emotions – humour was the largest factor that made my love for this novel go through the roof.

It’s incredibly hard to find a novel these days that has humour that can make you laugh so easily. This novel is one of those gems.

Lastly, I loved the contrast of seeing Mark on Mars as well as the people on Earth who were trying to help him come back home. This allowed me to stay engrossed in the novel constantly and made the book go by super quickly.


That concludes my review for The Martian by Andy Weir!

I hope you enjoyed my review! Comment down below if you’ve read this novel and what you thought about it – or even if you watched the movie! I thought the movie was pretty true to the novel so we can discuss both!

Thank you so much for reading, don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social media accounts listed in the side bar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads
Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
12 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir (Spoiler-Free Review)

  1. Great review. You captured everything I loved about this book! I also appreciated how easy the science was to understand, while still being actual science. I also enjoyed how well-researched and presented the NASA history was.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to get round to reading this for so long! I’m not normally a huge fan of audiobooks but I think this would be great for that! I really want to read the book before the movie so I think this would be a great way! Thanks for the great review! Marie (Lots of Livres) xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad you liked this one! I read it in print shortly after it was published, and the math/science was hard for me. So I made my brother (a legit rocket scientist) read it and he really enjoyed it. We watched the movie recently together and he really liked it! Said it was like a long Star Trek episode, LOL.
    Deanna Reads Books

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Also I’m sure your brother thought it was hilarious because he actually knew what Mark was talking about – makes me wish I was that smart!

      Like

Leave a Reply

