The Vegetarian by Han Kang (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hello lovelies!

This was the second book I read during my July 2017 read-a-thon and I was surprised but very pleased with.

I’m going to jump right into the review, I hope you enjoy!!


Goodreads Rating: 3.59/525489025
My Rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Pages: 188 pages
Published: February 2nd, 2016
Publisher: Hogarth
PURCHASE HERE

Plot:
Before the nightmare, Yeong-hye and her husband lived an ordinary life. But when splintering, blood-soaked images start haunting her thoughts, Yeong-hye decides to purge her mind and renounce eating meat. In a country where societal mores are strictly obeyed, Yeong-hye’s decision to embrace a more “plant-like” existence is a shocking act of subversion. And as her passive rebellion manifests in ever more extreme and frightening forms, scandal, abuse, and estrangement begin to send Yeong-hye spiraling deep into the spaces of her fantasy. In a complete metamorphosis of both mind and body, her now dangerous endeavor will take Yeong-hye—impossibly, ecstatically, tragically—far from her once-known self altogether.


⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


My Thoughts

This novel was one that I’d been looking forward to ever since I heard about it. It sounded interesting and unlike anything I’d read before.

It was exactly that.

This novel was, at times, really uncomfortable to read. It made me cringe and want to stop countless times – but I’m glad that I didn’t. After finishing this novel you really understand the entire idea behind what Han Kang was trying to do with this novel and it makes you really think.

Reading about South Korea and the family dynamic there was difficult and slightly upsetting to read.

This novel is split into three different parts with three different perspectives. I thought this provided us with a really good whole view on what was going on in this novel – with the added benefit of seeing the situation from three different viewpoints.

I must warn you that this novel is definitely Rated R. This is not for anyone under the age of 18. There are scenes in which you see rape, a graphic scene with the death of an animal, more sex scenes, suicide attempts and much more. So please understand that before you decide to read this novel.


That concludes my review for The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

I hope you enjoyed – please leave a comment down below letting me know if you’ve read this novel and what you thought about it. Also let me know if you’re thinking of buying this novel and why.

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow this blog and my other social media sides linked in the side bar.

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads
Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “The Vegetarian by Han Kang (Spoiler-Free Review)

  1. I put this book on my TBR, then took it out after reading some negative reviews on it. I think I might put it back after reading your review, it does sound really interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

