July 2017 Read-A-Thon Results

Okay, so I kind of dropped the ball this read-a-thon…

I didn’t plan properly and ended up being super busy during the day and was unable to do the read-a-thon in true read-a-thon fashion.

(how many times did I say read-a-thon there…)

Despite my inability to commit to this read-a-thon like I wish I would have, I’m happy to say that I still completed two novels. Two novels that I thoroughly enjoyed, might I add!

This post is going to go through the stats for the two novels as well as my brief thoughts on the novels – I will have full reviews up for both!


Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Goodreads Rating: 3.6/529960675
My Rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Pages: 384 pages
Publication Date: August 29th, 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
PURCHASE HERE

Plot:
Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home. 

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge. 

But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

My Thoughts:
I was very pleased with this novel! It gave me serious Throne of Glass (#1) vibes and I loved the addition of the gender fluid protagonist. It was something that took a little bit of time to get used to, but when you did get used to it – it made the novel so much more meaningful and enjoyable.


The Vegetarian by Han Kang

Goodreads Rating: 3.59/525489025
My Rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Pages: 188 pages
Published: February 2nd, 2016
Publisher: Hogarth
PURCHASE HERE

Plot:
Before the nightmare, Yeong-hye and her husband lived an ordinary life. But when splintering, blood-soaked images start haunting her thoughts, Yeong-hye decides to purge her mind and renounce eating meat. In a country where societal mores are strictly obeyed, Yeong-hye’s decision to embrace a more “plant-like” existence is a shocking act of subversion. And as her passive rebellion manifests in ever more extreme and frightening forms, scandal, abuse, and estrangement begin to send Yeong-hye spiraling deep into the spaces of her fantasy. In a complete metamorphosis of both mind and body, her now dangerous endeavor will take Yeong-hye—impossibly, ecstatically, tragically—far from her once-known self altogether.

My Thoughts:
This novel was one that I’d heard a lot of things about and finally decided to pick it up. I am so happy that I decided to grab it.

This novel was unexpectedly graphic and was slightly uncomfortable to read at times. Despite that it was such a good/important read. I learned a lot about South Korea in this novel and the cultural aspects of South Korea that were unknown to me before this.

I need to warn you that this novel, I would say, if Rated R. There is a trigger warning for rape as well as a couple other things… so just be careful if you’re thinking about reading it!


Despite my dropping the ball this read-a-thon, I’m happy with the novels I read and the amount I was able to read with limited time.

I highly recommend both of these novels – Mask of Shadows isn’t out yet, but The Vegetarian is and I highly recommend you pick it up!

I hope you enjoyed my post, comment down below if you’ve read either of these novels and what you though about them!

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow this blog as well as my other social media accounts listed in the side bar.

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 11.29.32 PM Rimpy Toor
Blogger & Reviewer at Rimpy’s Reads
Blog | Twitter | Goodreads
e: rimpyreads@gmail.com
8 thoughts on “July 2017 Read-A-Thon Results

  1. I have never heard of The Vegetarian. It sounds like a read I will enjoy. Hopefully I can pick it up at some point.
    And I would say completing 2 books is an achievement. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

