The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (Spoiler-Free Review)

The first novel in an amazing series – when I read this novel I knew it would quicky become one of my favourites. I knew after I read this novel, I would have to write a review because everyone needs to read this novel. 

Everyone.


Goodreads Rating: 4.55/52913377
Pages: 662 pages
Series: The Kingkiller Chronicles #1
Published: March 27th, 2007
Publisher: Penguin Group DAW

Plot:
Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.

The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature.


⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


I am such a big fan of this novel. The storyline of this novel was mindblowing – the concept was one that I’d never encountered before and I was thoroughly pleased that I finally began this novel. 

I have to say that it was very hard for me to put this novel down – despite having many other things to do. 

I think my favourite aspect of this novel was watching Kvothe grow up right before my eyes and being able to follow him in every journey he goes on. That being said – his time in the University are by far the best. I think this was the aspect of his life that I saw the most growth in Kvothe. 

Despite the University section of the novel being my favourite – Kvothe’s time with the trope and as a homeless orphan were also incredibly facinating reads (basically the entire novel…). 

I’d like to point out that there is a bit of romance in this novel, and I did not enjoy it. The leading lady of the romance was horrid and I didn’t understand Kvothe’s facination with her and I didn’t understand why he didn’t realize she wasn’t for him! I’m really hoping that Kvothe learns what’s best for him and dumps her in the next novel, because having her be a big part of the next novel will be a huge bummer!

Kvothe as a character was so well written – he was powerful and witter and caring and everything inbetween. Additionally, the way that he handles himself in situations that are less than ideal is very admirable. You see Kvothe go through all of the things a normal kid goes through – but those changes are amplified due to the experiences Kvothe has gone through. 

All in all I loved this novel. It was an amazing first novel to this series and I’m delighted that I still have one book on my shelf to read from this world – and another one on the way (who knows when). Alongside a small short story that follows a side character. 

Please, please, please everyone read this novel. You will never regret it, not for one minute. 


I hope you enjoyed my review for The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – please comment down below if you’ve read this novel and what you thought about it!

Thanks so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as my other social media accounts in the side bar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

19 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (Spoiler-Free Review)

  1. This book has become a permanent view in my bookcase, when I think about it.. It’s still on my TBR-shelf and has been there for ages, haha. But there are always so many other books that I want to read, that I just don’t get around to reading this one. Glad to read you’re so positive about it, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was that way for me as well – especially since the book is pretty long and daunting! I have to admit though, when reading it I felt like the pace was so quick that I didn’t even feel the length of the novel!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness. Thank you so much for writing a review of this. I have honestly picked up this book several times in a store but never purchased it. I can put it on my Goodreads list of To Be Read now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been really curious about this series sine I hear it praised so much! I love high fantasy and definitely plan on reading this series, I’ve just been holding off since progress on the third book has been extremely slow. I’m glad that you enjoyed the book though, it sounds phenomenal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The tenth anniversary of TNoTW is coming up so if you’re thinking of purchasing it I’d recommend getting that special edition! Also I know it’s a huge drag the next book is taking so long, I recently watched Patrick rothfuss speak about it and it sounds like he’s making progress! So fingers crossed it comes soon

      Like

  4. What a wonderful coincidence. I have always been a non-fiction reader, but after many recommendations, I caved and started to read this very book. And so far, I love it. I think it may be the book that gets me into fiction! Keep up the good work – and have a wonderful Friday.

    Frobex

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Rimpy! I absolutely ADORE this book! It’s one of my favourites ever. For some reason, I read it around 3 or 4 years ago but haven’t managed to read the second one yet… Guess I’m unconsciously waiting for the third to finally be published? Glad you liked it as much as I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

