Top Five Favourite Characters: Jan-July

I cannot believe it’s halfway through 2017 already. Where has the time gone? I think it feels a bit more crazy to me because I started school at the beginning of January and now it’s July and I’m almost halfway through my program!

Today I wanted to talk about all of my favourite characters that I’ve read about so far in 2017. It has been a good year for me so far, and I’m really happy about a lot of the books I’ve read this year. Hopefully my good streak continues!


Celaena (Aelin) 
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This year (mostly) was the first year that I got into the Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas. I’m so glad that I decided to do so!

I fell in love with Celaena in this novel, mainly because she was so badass and unforgivingly herself and it was really something I admired about her. Celaena made mistakes and she did things that were downright dumb, but reading about her character I can’t help but feel for her. She’s had to learn a lot of things on her own – having been raised by an assassin – and she’s just doing the best she can ok!

I know a lot of people have problems with Celaena, and I understand why most of those problems come up and why people don’t like her, but I still am a huge fan of her and the Throne of Glass series is quickly becoming one of my favourites. 


Kvothe 
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind was another novel that I read pretty early in the year, and it was amazing. In this novel we got to essentially grow alongside Kvothe and that led to me growing to love him as a character. 

Kvothe is smart and extremely talented – he works hard to get where he needs to go and never really complains about it (most of the time). I enjoyed following his journey as he went from the streets of a poor town to a college that taught him all that he wanted to learn. He had such determination it was inspiring to see. 

I do think that, at times, Kvothe doesn’t have the best judgement when it comes to certain people (you know who I’m talking about), and that’s a bit frustrating to follow, but he’s a teenager, what do you expect. I think Rothfuss wrote this character so well, and he has nailed the perfect elements to make Kvothe real and unique and someone that you can actually relate to. 


Mark
The Martian by Andy Weir

Mark is by far the easier character to love in a novel that I have read by far. It’s not hard to fall for his charms and humor and intelligence. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the audiobook and imagining that Mark himself was talking to me and talking me through his adventures on Mars, because I am a loser like that. 

In all seriousness, Mark Watney as a character was so well done. We readers got to follow him as he figured things out and used his brain to save him from the predicament he was in and it was mesmerizing. It was also nice to see his humor, but also to see the opposite side of that as he spoke to the sadness he felt being all alone with no one to talk to. 

Mark dealt with his emotions head on and never really let them get the best of him and that was inspiring. 

Plus, he’s hilarious


Mia
Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Mia is another good example of a strong, badass chick. I think all lady assassins end up being my favourite, mostly because I want to be an assassin and be badass and fight and stuff… 

Despite her filling my “favourite character mold” Mia really surprised me with how strong she was, despite dealing with all the things that were working to tear her down. 

Throughout the novel we got to see incredible growth for Mia. She went from having a crutch that she couldn’t be rid of to being confident and fearless in the face of any adversities. Mia was also very loyal, which is another reason I loved her so much. It was nice to see her show her loyalty to people she cared about, despite them maybe not deserving it all the time. 


Inej
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

It was hard to narrow down my favourites from this duology, but I think it might have to be Inej. 

She was someone I knew from the start of this series that I would love. Her grace and strength were really great to read and I really enjoyed her ability to sneak up on just about everyone (just about). 

I think I started to like Inej even more when we got to Crooked Kingdom. In this novel a lot was going on with Inej and despite it all, she was able to stay on top of things and never let anyone on her team down. In addition to that, I really loved how Inej had such loyalty to her crew (most of the crew were the same). 

Lastly, I just thought it was super impressive how great she was at climbing. Like a little Inej monkey!


That concludes my Top 5 Favourite Characters of 2017. 

I hope you enjoyed! Comment down below what your top five favourite characters so far this year have been!

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow on here as well as my other social media sites listed in the side bar! 

Until next time, 

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

10 thoughts on “Top Five Favourite Characters: Jan-July

  1. I LOVE INEJ! Once I started Six of Crows she was IMMEDIATELY my favorite! She is so strong (mentally and physically) and I always forget that she’s a relatively young character. AND HER AND KAZ!!! ❤

    I have such mixed feelings on Celaena/Aelin. I never liked her at first (idk she was just too headstrong and stubborn that she couldn't see what was right in front of her face sometimes). I LOVED her in HoF bc we finally saw something NOT come naturally to her and I loved seeing her struggle with magic and accepting her past. Now I like Aelin but she has some trust issues. I kinda understand WHY she has trust issues but I wish she would at least let Rowan in… That would make me love their relationship if they talking about things more instead of just ignoring all the hardships everyone is going thru. They talked a lot in HoF and I loved it! I wish it just continued into QoS and EoS… Hopefully in the last book we'll see Aelin grow to at least let Rowan in. I'm not saying she has to scream her plans from the rooftops (that would be a very bad idea) but at least tell Rowan

    Like

    1. I totally agree with Aaelin being totally secretive with her plans – and I’m hoping that she fixes that. Also, I also really though HoF was where everything shifted for me. It was a novel that we didn’t really have the chance to guess what would happen next because it did have so many different twists and turns.

      Kaz and Inej will always be my favourite couple from that novel!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. HoF was just such a good novel for plot and character development! That’s about when I really started caring about the plot. Before HoF I cared but I also had no problem putting the book down if I had to. HoF and EoS are my favorites in the series!

        Like

      1. Yeah I heard so too! I think it’ll lean more towards the fiction of science fiction which makes me even more excited!

        Like

Leave a Reply

