Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett (Spoiler-Free Review)

Okay guys, third book of the weekend is done. I know, I’m also impressed with myself. Although two of my three books were romantic contemporaries and I don’t really think of those as books that take a long time to read. Especially for me. I eat them up.

I enjoyed this novel (I knew I would) and I’m glad that I decided to read it today when it was super nice and hot out. It really made me enjoy the books atmosphere more.

Okay, on to the review!


Goodreads Rating: 4.06/5349270421
Pages: 388 pages
Series: N/A
Published: April 4th, 2017
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Plot:
Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.


⭐ ⭐ ⭐


I read this right after I finished By Your Side and I have to admit, I’m liking it a bit more than I liked that novel. This novel has such a beach-y and summer-y vibe it’s making me feel like I’m at the beach, even though I’m not and I’m just at home in my room with a fan on (it’s hot, don’t judge me).

The plot of this story is another easy going and fun plot without any major things going on – other than the fact that Porter is Alex and Bailey is Mink and they both don’t know who is who – and it’s a whole ordeal, trust me.

I love Porter and all of his sex appeal, he makes me want to date a surfer boy just so I can look at his muscular body 24/7. Also I love that he’s so caring of Bailey, in the way he acts and the many, many things he does to protect her honor (you’ll know what I’m talking about if you read the novel). Although near the end of the book Porter did do something that pissed me off and he was on my bad side for a couple of chapters (it’s ok now I guess…).

Bailey is cool but sometimes I feel like knocking her over the head because she can’t see what’s right in front of her eyes! It’s frustrating, but it’s also kind of funny, but mostly frustrating. I think near the end of the story is where you kind of wonder how unobservant a person can be, especially when things are staring you right in the face Bailey. Ok I’m a little bitter still… but how do you not realize Porter is Alex and Alex is Porter. There are literally such obvious signs everywhere she looks but it just doesn’t click. Dear God girl!

Other than that I did like Bailey, I loved the style the author gave Bailey – I think the old school classic look really adds to her character and it makes her very unique. I also thought she was a pretty badass chick, especially with all the things that she’s gone through.

This novel does have some rated-R moments (like the mention of masturbation, nothing too crazy kids – oh wait there was a sex scene, but again nothing too crazy kids), which I don’t think really adds to the story… but to each their own. Which also means that if you’re a young’n maybe think twice about reading this novel (but they’re very small scenes and they don’t get too graphic, I think you’ll survive).

The story in this novel was a fun summer story and it had moments where I was kind of surprised – but at the same time not too, too surprised (it’s easy to guess with a novel like this). There were a couple side plots that interested me for a minute, but after that minute I kind of forgot about them until they came up again, which wasn’t too often.

All in all this novel was what I expected it to be, a fun read that made me feel (a couple – like five) butterflies and got me into the summertime mood. I would recommend this novel if you’re looking for something that’s fun and will make you giggle like a little girl when Porter say’s something sweet to Bailey (I giggled, I admit it).

I don’t think I would read this novel again, mostly because I don’t have time to read something again when I could be reading something new and exciting, and also because I didn’t enjoy it enough to want to read it again (sorry).


That concludes my review for Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett. I recommend this novel if you’re looking for something easy and fun on the beach, but if you’re looking for something with a little more meat, then you might want to look elsewhere.

Comment down below if you’ve read this novel before and what you think about it! Also, let me know if you’ve ever dated a surfer and whether they are as sexy and Bailey made Porter out to be (I have questions).

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my blog as well as all my other social media sites that are in the sidebar.

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

6 thoughts on “Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett (Spoiler-Free Review)

      1. I know. It’s my only problem with contemporaries like this, I feel like the author kind of takes “shortcuts” to make the story work and then it ends up making the character less likeable or the story less interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

