By Your Side by Kasie West Review

Hello my dear readers!

As I stated in my July TBR – I wanted to get into more romantic contemporary novels this month. Purely because it’s been so hot where I live (Vancouver, BC) and I wanted a novel that would make me feel all summer-y.

The first real romantic contemporary novel I picked up this summer was By Your Side by Kasie West and if this is an accurate representation of how the rest of my reads from this genre will go – I am very excited.

Please be warned that I do mention a couple things about the novel that may seem a bit spoiler-y. I don’t really consider them huge plot points, but I’d just like you to know before you read this post!

I’m going to jump right into the review now – enjoy!


Goodreads Rating: 3.86/5302562481
Pages: 346 pages
Series: N/A
Published: January 31st, 2017
Publisher: Harper Teen

Plot:
When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumours about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


⭐ ⭐ ⭐


My Thoughts

When I picked up this novel, I wasn’t expecting it to be some literary masterpiece. I knew it would be a quick summer read and I wanted something that would just capture my attention for a bit whilst also making me happy with all the love and romance.

This book was exactly what I wanted it to be –  but I did have a couple issues with some things. I enjoyed the storyline of the two main characters being trapped in a library together (One Tree Hill vibes) and I did enjoy the characters, but not as much as I would have liked.

Autumn is someone who is always looking to please other people, and this was nice but also annoying at times. I frequently found myself telling her not to do something she felt like she just had to do. I learned later that the reason for her need to please all the people around her was mostly due to her anxiety disorder. This information allowed me to gain a lot more insight into why she does what she does.

Dax was a character I didn’t think I would like. He was rude and cold and he didn’t have much of a personality. Later in the novel you start to understand Dax a bit more, but I feel like his personality still wasn’t something that came across as much as I would have liked. Additionally, I felt like Autumn and Dax’s relationship wasn’t something that you got to see grow in a slow manner from just friends to lovers (ew, did I just say lovers…). I felt like at one point they were buddies, and then the next minute they were making out. When did that happen?

The plot in this story surprised me. I was expecting the entire novel to take place in the library, but that wasn’t the case. After leaving the library so much more happened and I’m not really upset about it. The happenings after the library felt so necessary – especially when we got to see more of Autumn’s problems with her anxiety.

Prior to reading this novel, I wasn’t very exposed to anxiety disorder and what kind of effect it has on people who have it. This novel provided me with some insight (I don’t know if all of it was entirely accurate) and it kind of opened my eyes to what people with anxiety disorder are going through. Of course I don’t claim to know exactly how it works and how it effects those who have it, but having an idea is helpful for me.

All in all this novel was a quick and fun read, and it was filled with romance, and at the end of the day that’s all I was asking of it. Of course it has it’s problems, but if you’re looking for something that’ll take your mind off things and provide you with a distraction for a couple hours, then I highly recommend By Your Side.


Alright everyone! That concludes my review for By Your Side by Kasie West.

Please comment down below what your favourite summer reads are! Also, if you’ve read By Your Side, let me know what you thought about it.

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow my on here as well as my other social media accounts that are linked in the side bar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

3 thoughts on “By Your Side by Kasie West Review

  1. I read this a few months ago and I enjoyed it a lot! I really liked that I was able to connect with Autumn with her anxiety. I think because of that, this is my favorite Kasie book so far but I have 4 unread on my shelf!

    Like

    1. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Kasie Wests other books so I’m definitely thinking about picking up a couple more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

