Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hello readers!

I am finally bringing you my Truthwitch by Susan Dennard Spoiler-Free book review. I started this novel last weekend and unfortunately this entire week I had no time to read it. Thankfully the week went by fast and I finally got around to finishing this novel the past couple days!

I hope you enjoy the review!


Goodreads Rating: 3.93/521414439
Pages: 416 pages
Series: The Witchlands #1
Published: January 5th, 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen

Plot:
In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch. 


⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️


My Thoughts

Okay so this novel is something I’ve had for a while (several months) and haven’t picked up until now. I’m so glad that I did because I loved this novel.

This novel follows our two main characters: Safi who is a rare Truthwitch with the ability to tell whether someone is being truthful or lying and Iseult who is a Threadwitch with the ability to see the threads that bind humans together as well as each person’s individual threads (which can show how they’re feeling – sort of like their aura).

These girls are looking to save enough money so they can buy a home of their own, but when a heist of theirs goes south the girls are forced to run from their homes with a Bloodwitch (able to track and control blood) following close behind.

Additionally, Safi’s rare gift is something many people would kill for – especially diplomats – so she must keep it hidden.

Along the way the girls meet Prince Merik who becomes an ally of theirs on their run from all that follows them.

I had no idea what to expect when I got into this novel. I knew it was about witches but I didn’t understand how all the different gifts (Windwitch, Truthwitch, Threadwitch, Bloodwitch…) would play into it. I was pleasantly surprised to see how great this book ended up being.

A heavy plot point of this novel is the relationship between Safi and Iseult. These two are threadsisters and with that comes an unmeasurable love for each other that was amazing to read. These girls cared for each other immensely and proved over and over that they would do anything for their threadsister.

Safi is the headstrong and irrational one of the two. She didn’t think things through and that got her into trouble time after time. Throughout the book you get to see Safi grow and understand how her irrationality can sometimes cause people around her, people she loves, to get hurt. Seeing this growth of hers made me love her even more than I already had. Safi learns to make decisions that don’t only benefit her, but also all those around her and it was great to read.

Iseult is the more rationale thinker. Throughout the novel you see Iseult have a lot of internal conflict with who she is and about her Threadwitch abilities. I loved Iseult and all of her adventures. Everything she did was always for the best reason and she never let herself do things for the wrong reason.

I’d also like to take a small moment to mention that Merik is such a loyal man to his people. It’s inspiring and something that I think holds a lot of meaning in this novel because everything he does, he does for his people and he doesn’t let anything change that. Also when Merik has his grumpy moments he reminds my of a little old man.

All in all this novel had so much action and amazing adventures going on and all the themes of loyalty in this novel were great and Susan Dennard’s writing was incredible and kept the novel flowing seamlessly. Additionally I felt like there was never a moment in the novel that I would have said that it’s slow or that I had to take a break because the entire novel had scenes upon scenes of intriguing plot.

All in all I thought this novel was a great read and I cannot wait to pick up the sequel as soon as possible!


Well there you have my Truthwitch by Susan Dennard Spoiler-Free Review!

Leave a comment down below if you’ve read this book and what your favourite witch gift is (wind, blood, truth, thread…).

Thank you so much for reading, don’t forget to follow me on here and all of my other social media sites that are linked in the sidebar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

One thought on “Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (Spoiler-Free Review)

Leave a Reply

