July TBR

Hello readers!

Today I am bringing to you my July TBR. I have been meaning to make this post for a while now, but other posts have taken a bit of priority the past couple days. NOT ANYMORE.

The month of June was a great reading month for me – I read a total of 17 novels (this does include several comics and graphic novels, don’t worry! – I’m not crazy!).

I want to – somewhat – read as many books as I did last month, but I have no idea how much time I’ll have with all of my finals coming up at the end of the month.

I am going to just jump into the TBR now! – Enjoy


Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Goodreads Rating: 3.93/521414439
Pages: 416 pages
Series: The Witchlands #1
Published: January 5th, 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen

Plot:
In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Alright, so this might be cheating a bit on my TBR – seeing as how I currently only have 50 pages remaining before I finish this novel, but I figured “Why not.” I’ve had this novel for a very long time now, and I’ve been looking forward to reading it but have never really commited to reading it and picked it up. I’m very glad I’ve come around to it and started this book because – it is great!


By Your Side by Kasie West

Goodreads Rating: 3.86/530256248
Pages: 346 pages
Series: N/A
Published: January 31st, 2017
Publisher: Harper Teen

Plot:
When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Since it’s summer I wanted to read more contemporary romance novels to get myself into the summer mood. This is a novel I’ve heard a lot about and I’m very excited to read it. It sounds like something that’s going to just make me happy – doesn’t love make everyone happy?


In a Perfect World by Trish Doller

Goodreads Rating: 4.03/532333213
Pages: 294 pages
Series: N/A
Published: May 23rd, 2017
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Plot:
Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

This is just another one of those quick, romantic contemporaries I’m looking forward to. Also it taked place in Egypt, a place I don’t think I’ve read a novel about.


Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Goodreads Rating: 4.06/5 34927042
Pages: 388 pages
Series: N/A
Published: April 4th, 2017
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Plot:
The one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie fan Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online as Alex. Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new archnemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever it is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.

Yet another romantic contemporary. This one has pretty good reviews on Goodreads so I don’t think I’ll cringe too much – it’s very hard not to with these novels. This novel also has a large online friendships element so I’m interested to see how that works out.


Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Goodreads Rating: 4.04/529102896
Pages: 368 pages
Series: N/A
Published: June 13th, 2017
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Plot: 
Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. 

This isn’t exactly the cookie-cutter, contemporary romance I was expecting it to be – it seems to have some darker elements to it – but I’m excited all the same to get to it. I do love novels that show characters who are trying to take control of their lives, and being able to see how they come out the other side. I’m glad I decided to pick up this novel this month, I’m sure it’s going to be great! – Also how beautiful is that cover!


Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Goodreads Rating: 4.04/58490112
Pages: 422 pages
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone #1
Published: September 27th, 2011
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Plot: 
Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

This is a series I have heard a multitude of things about. I’ve heard that this series is amazing and loads of people love it so much – so I figured I’d give it a go. This novel sounds like it’s dark and has a lot of action – whick I am a sucker for! I am definitely going to get to this novel this month and after I do I will post a review for it!


It by Stephen King

Goodreads Rating: 4.18/5 1501142976
Pages: 1116 pages (dear lord)
Series: N/A
Published: October 1st, 1987
Publisher: New English Library

Plot:
To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry, Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.

It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurked, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread. Sometimes IT reached up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .

The adults, knowing better, knew nothing.

Time passed and the children grew up, moved away. The horror of IT was deep-buried, wrapped in forgetfulness. Until they were called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirred and coiled in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.

I know this isn’t exactly a summer read but I have been wanting to read this novel for ages now, and the new movie is coming out in September! I have a feeling it’s going to take me a while to get through the 1116 pages this novel has – so I am going to start now so I have plenty of time to read and finish this book before the new movie comes out. I’m very excited, I’ve only read one other book by Stephen King and I enjoyed that one – so I hope I enjoy this one!

Also how great is that cover? That’s the novel I have and it really looks great on my shelf as well! You can buy it here. 


The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas

Goodreads Rating: 4.64/532075671
Pages: 464 pages
Series: N/A
Published: February 28th, 2017
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

Plot:
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

This novel drew up a lot of talk when it first came out. People raved about the plot of this novel and I am very, very excited to finally get around to reading this novel. This novel is part of the Black Lives Matter Movement in which it shows us the realities of what is happening to black lives around the world. It’s said to be real and something that should be read by everyone for the message it sends. I can’t wait to get to this.


Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Goodreads Rating: 4.29/528954189
Pages: 435 pages
Series: Arc of a Scythe #1
Published: November 22nd, 2016
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Plot: 
Thou shalt kill.

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control.

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

This novel was very hyped up when it first came out – the hype has obviously died down now – but I’m still excited to read it. I found this novel on BookOutlet for a very inexpensive price so I decided to pick it up. The premise of this novel sounds like something I’ve never read before and I’m interested to see how it plays out!


The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Goodreads Rating: 4.20/56342491
Pages: 506 pages
Series: Seven Realms #1
Published: October 6th, 2009
Publisher: Hyperion Books

Plot:
Times are hard in the mountain city of Fellsmarch. Reformed thief Han Alister will do almost anything to eke out a living for his family. The only thing of value he has is something he can’t sell—the thick silver cuffs he’s worn since birth. They’re clearly magicked—as he grows, they grow, and he’s never been able to get them off.

One day, Han and his clan friend, Dancer, confront three young wizards setting fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han takes an amulet from Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, to keep him from using it against them. Soon Han learns that the amulet has an evil history—it once belonged to the Demon King, the wizard who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. With a magical piece that powerful at stake, Han knows that the Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.

Meanwhile, Raisa ana’Marianna, princess heir of the Fells, has her own battles to fight. She’s just returned to court after three years of freedom in the mountains—riding, hunting, and working the famous clan markets. Raisa wants to be more than an ornament in a glittering cage. She aspires to be like Hanalea—the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world. But her mother has other plans for her…

I’ve heard amazing things about Cinda Williams Chima, so when I saw the box set for this series on Chapters for cheap I jumped at the chance to purchase these. I was hesitant to start this series because I feel like it’s starts of at a sprint and I don’t know how I’ll like that aspect of the novel – but I am going to try!


So that concludes my July TBR. I’m excited to get around to some of my novels that have been sitting around for a while, as well as some romantic contemporaries (which I haven’t done in a while).

Comment down below your TBR for the month of July! – Also let me know if you’ve read any of these novels and what you thought about them (no spoilers please!).

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow me on here as well as all my other social media accounts links in the sidebar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

5 thoughts on “July TBR

  1. The Hate U Give is SO worth the hype!! It’s definitely one of my favorite books I’ve read this year. I also loved Truthwitch so much!!

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to read The Hate You Give! I’ve heard it’s amazing. I’m also fascinated by Alex, Approximately and how the online relationship works within books! Especially since it’s so prevalent to today’s world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

