Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Spoiler-Free Review)

Hello readers!

This is my spoiler-free review for Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. This novel was so great, it was incredibly immersive and the world was such a delight to read. 

Let’s get into the review shall we?


Goodreads Rating: 4.63/522299763
Pages: 536 pages
Series: Six of Crows #2
Published: September 27th, 2016
Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Plot:
(I’m going to post the plot for Six of Crows so I don’t spoil!)

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


 ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️


My Thoughts

This novel was such a perfect sequel for Six of Crows and the perfect ending for the duology.

It seems as though authors have a tendency to leave a lot of loose ends and questions when they write a shorter series, or even an independent novel. This duology on the other hand left me with no questions. It left me with the most pleasant feeling.

To the very last page, Bardugo allowed us all to understand how our favourite characters lives would play out and how they would continue on, even though we wouldn’t get to read about them. Their futures were hinted at, and that allowed me to imagine their lives on my own, which is very satisfying.

Kaz is a very well written anti-hero. He was never someone who had the best intentions all the time, but you loved him anyways because it’s Kaz! You heard about a majority of his history in Six of Crows, but it was just built upon tenfold in this novel, which leads you to love him even more.

Inej is someone who you love from the start. She is a strong, independant female who went through a lot through her life and the previous novel, yet she still stayed strong despite what was going on.

Nina is a character I didn’t love at first. In Six of Crows I questioned her involvement in the group, I didn’t think she fit, but halfway through that novel and all throughout this novel I understood. She is a core part of this group, and no shit, she’s hilarious. She has a charm that is so fun to read, and her interaction with Matthias and Inej were such a great addition to the novel.

Jesper took up a large part of this novel. We finally got to understand more of his character, plus we met his dad! Throughout this novel Jesper quickly rose to the top of my favourite characters of this novel, it was a great change from him being in the backgroun the previous novel.

Matthias is an ogre. That’s how I imagine him. I’m sure that’s not what Bardugo was going for, but that’s what he became in my mind. His constant grumbling and “never happy” mood was entertaining and so befitting for the ogre persona I saw him as. Additionally, the character growth for him this novel was stupendous. It was amazing to see him become someone who you didn’t really mind having around, as opposed to some jackass who is always being rude.

Lastly, Wylan. Wylan is a dork. He’s someone who you would never expect to join our weird assortment of Crows, but he fits so perfectly in. I think throughout this novel Wylan surprised me the most, the character growth of his in this novel was so interesting to read, and it was great fun following his and Jesper’s adventures and they learnt some things that were both shocking to them and to me.

All in all this novel was a great ending to the Six of Crows universe we all grew to love. It was bittersweet seeing our characters go, but I’m happy with how we left things off.

(Although I wouldn’t complain about a Wylan spinoff…)


That concludes my Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo Spoiler-Free Review.

Please leave a comment down below letting me know what you thought about the ending to the Six of Crows duology and also let me know who your favourite character is and why!

Thank you so much for reading and don’t forget to follow me on here and all my other social media sites that are linked in the sidebar!

Until next time,

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 1.27.15 AM

Leave a Reply

